Resilience and Resolve Sessions

MONDAY, OCTOBER 19
TIME
SESSION

12pm ET/11am CT/ 10am MT/9am PT 12pm ET/11am CT/ 10am MT/9am PT
Auditorium

Welcome to the 2020 Fall STEM Learning Ecosystems Convening Resilience & Resolve: The Power of STEM Learning Ecosystems

Y is STEM still White?

Join Ecosystems leaders for a frank conversation on Racial Equity and STEM. Nichole Pinkard, from Northwestern University, and Reginald McGregor, of Rolls Royce will be joining the SLECOP to push us to think about the ways that we can interrogate systems in education. Our panelists will provide insight from their sector perspectives, as well as, challenge us to look at our role in our ecosystem as it looks at addressing challenges around equity and inclusion. Ecosystem Leaders from Chicago, Indiana, and Pittsburgh will also participate to share how ecosystems, every ecosystem can push the racial equity conversation.

Presenters:

  • Reginald McGregor,Engineering Employee Development & STEM Outreach NA Engineering Operations Management, Defense Sector, Rolls-Royce Corporation, Indiana STEM Ecosystem
  • Nichole Pinkard, Computer Scientist, Northwestern University
  • Natasha Smith-Walker, Executive Director, Project Exploration, Chicago STEM Pathways Cooperative
  • LaTrenda Sherrill, Remake Learning, Pittsburgh Regional STEM Ecosystem
Available video(s):
test, test

Ecosystem to Ecosystem Break-Out Sessions


12:50pm ET/11:50am CT 10:50am MT/9:50am PT 12:50pm ET/11:50am CT 10:50am MT/9:50am PT
Conference Room 1

Policy & Advocacy for Ecosystems

Policy can seem separate from our work as STEM advocates, when in fact it is important to our desired outcomes. During this session you will learn and develop strategies, discuss coaching opportunities, and reimagine participation in policy as an essential advocacy move. You will learn how to manage your own policy tool kit and personalize the content to fit the needs of your ecosystem.

PRESENTER: James Brown, Global Partner and Coach
FOCUS AREA: Systems for Sustainability


12:50pm ET/11:50am CT 10:50am MT/9:50am PT 12:50pm ET/11:50am CT 10:50am MT/9:50am PT
Conference Room 2

UPLIFTING AMBASSADORS CONTINUING THE DREAM TO COLLEGE AND CAREER READINESS IN THE TIME OF A PANDEMIC

In Delran and Chicago, equity and access were addressed through 1:1 networked devices and intensive professional development to create student ambassadors that acquire skills in digital fabrication and virtual learning. Both cities posed the question, how do we persevere hands-on learning during this challenging time? The answer; STEMbassadors of Delran and STEAMbassadors of Chicago. Find out how to engage youth in virtual pivots, learning, workforce development, and community outreach.

PRESENTERS: Cachetta Potts, Special Projects Administrator at Project Exploration, Natasha Smith-Walker, Executive Director, Project Exploration

Erica DeMichele and Mary Jo Hutchinson K12 Supervisors at Delran Township Schools and Co-Leads for Delran STEM Ecosystem Alliance

ECOSYSTEMS: Chicago STEM Pathways Cooperative and Delran STEM Ecosystem Alliance

FOCUS AREAS: Cross-Sector Partnerships, Systems that Sustain the Work, Connections to Learning, Virtual Pivots, Equity, Social Emotional Development


12:50pm ET/11:50am CT 10:50am MT/9:50am PT 12:50pm ET/11:50am CT 10:50am MT/9:50am PT
Conference Room 3

MAKING SHIFTS & LEVERAGING OPPORTUNITIES

What does increasing diversity, equity & inclusion in STEM mean? This session is a safe space for valuable discussions regarding institutional changes needed to occur for the underrepresented to become represented in STEM. Through an engaging activity, we will explore asset-based STEM leadership practices and recommendations to make necessary shifts in our own communities and spaces.

PRESENTERS: Stephanie Garcia, Education Associate at IDRA, Hector Bojorquez, Director of Operations Intercultural Development Research Association

ECOSYSTEM: San Antonio STEM Ecosystem

FOCUS AREAS: Cross-Sector Partnerships, Systems that Sustain the Work, Measurement, Connections to Learning, Equity


12:50pm ET/11:50am CT 10:50am MT/9:50am PT 12:50pm ET/11:50am CT 10:50am MT/9:50am PT
Conference Room 4

ROBOTIFY IN NEW ORLEANS

Robotics and Artificial Intelligence are amazing tools for unleashing students’ imaginations and introducing them to critical skills. Yet, robots are often expensive and out-of-reach for many. Learn about the virtual robotics platform, Robotify, and how STEM NOLA is piloting this software to bring as many robotics experiences as possible to students.

PRESENTERS: Dr. Calvin Mackie, STEM NOLA; Adam Dalton, co-founder of Robotify


Open Campus & Ecosystem Meet-Up Time


1:35pm ET/12:35pm CT/ 11:35am MT/10:35am PT 1:35pm ET/12:35pm CT/ 11:35am MT/10:35am PT
EXPO HALL

Check Out Sponsor & Vendor Booths in the Vendor Hall!


1:35pm ET/12:35pm CT/ 11:35am MT/10:35am PT 1:35pm ET/12:35pm CT/ 11:35am MT/10:35am PT
CONFERENCE ROOM 1

Western Regional Group


1:35pm ET/12:35pm CT/ 11:35am MT/10:35am PT 1:35pm ET/12:35pm CT/ 11:35am MT/10:35am PT
CONFERENCE ROOM 2

International Regional Group


1:35pm ET/12:35pm CT/ 11:35am MT/10:35am PT 1:35pm ET/12:35pm CT/ 11:35am MT/10:35am PT
CONFERENCE ROOM 3

Ecosystem MeetUps

Storytelling: How are you sharing the work of your ecosystem?


1:35pm ET/12:35pm CT/ 11:35am MT/10:35am PT 1:35pm ET/12:35pm CT/ 11:35am MT/10:35am PT
CONFERENCE ROOM 4

Ecosystem MeetUps

Pandemic Engagement: How are you keeping your members engaged remotely?


Ecosystem to Ecosystem Break-Out Sessions


2:20pm ET/1:20pm CT/ 12:20pm MT/11:20am PT 2:20pm ET/1:20pm CT/ 12:20pm MT/11:20am PT
CONFERENCE ROOM 1

FORWARDING EQUITY AND JUSTICE IN STEM THROUGH CULTURALLY SUSTAINING PROGRAM PRACTICES

Culturally sustaining pedagogy and practices (CSPP) support the participation of ethnically and racially minoritized youth in out-of-school STEM programs, while also centering their cultural identities. This session will support participants in better understanding CSPP and offer the opportunity to hear about programs and ecosystems engaging in such practices, in both regular programming and their responses to COVID-19. Participants will leave the session ready to evaluate, expand upon, and improve their programming to make it more culturally sustaining.

PRESENTERS:

  • Lori Delale-O’Connor, Assistant Professor of Education
  • Dr. Disan Davis is the Program Manager of RockEDU
  • Ashley Patton is the founding director of the CS Pathways
  • Dr. Elizabeth Waters is the Acting Director of STEM Outreach at The Cooper Union

ECOSYSTEM: Pittsburgh Regional STEM Ecosystem

FOCUS AREAS: Connections to Learning, Cross-Sector Partnerships, Systems that Sustain the Work, Equity, Social Emotional Development


2:20pm ET/1:20pm CT/ 12:20pm MT/11:20am PT 2:20pm ET/1:20pm CT/ 12:20pm MT/11:20am PT
CONFERENCE ROOM 2

INTRODUCTION TO CALIPER

Caliper maps paths to success in the terms of equity and access set out by the STEM learning ecosystems themselves. Caliper tells the stories of how ecosystems navigate success by: locating them in relation to where they have been, where they want to be, and where to go next, leveraging common experiences to create a shared language for communicating and adapting lessons learned about clear paths, detours, and dead ends, and by highlighting landmarks of significance for equity and access, flagging substantive variations in ethnic, gender, age, and role subgroups’ experiences.

PRESENTERS: Jan Morrison, Founder & Senior Partner, TIES; William Fisher Founder Living Capital Metrics, LLC; Gwendolyn Brantley, Executive Director of Leadership Greater Bridgeport STEM Learning Ecosystem; Phil Hampton, Professor, California State University Channel Islands, Ventura County STEM Network; Xan Black, Executive Director of the Tulsa Regional STEM Alliance

FOCUS AREAS: Measurement, Systems that Sustain the Work, Equity


2:20pm ET/1:20pm CT/ 12:20pm MT/11:20am PT 2:20pm ET/1:20pm CT/ 12:20pm MT/11:20am PT
CONFERENCE ROOM 3

DEVELOPING A STATE STEM EDUCATION AGENCY TO FOCUS ON YOUR ECOSYSTEM

Can you imagine your state having a state agency solely focused on equitable STEM education and fostering a thriving STEM ecosystem? It is possible! Members of the Idaho STEM Ecosystem will share how they created a state agency through legislation under the Office of the Governor. Presenters will discuss the formation of the state agency, the role of key partnerships that made it possible, how legislative mandates have been brought to scale. Participants will brainstorm with one another and the presenters on how to create a STEM education agency within their own local/state government.

PRESENTER: Angela Hemingway, Executive Director, Idaho STEM Action Center
ECOSYSTEM: Idaho STEM Ecosystem
FOCUS AREAS: Partnerships, Systems that Sustain the Work, Connections to Learning


3:10pm ET/2:10pm CT/ 1:10pm MT/12:10pm PT 3:10pm ET/2:10pm CT/ 1:10pm MT/12:10pm PT

Check Out the Expo Hall!


3:30pm ET/2:30pm CT/ 1:30pm MT/12:30pm PT 3:30pm ET/2:30pm CT/ 1:30pm MT/12:30pm PT
Expo Hall Balcony

STEM PUSH Network

*Network Members Only


7:30pm ET/6:30pm CT/ 5:30pm MT/4:30pm PT 7:30pm ET/6:30pm CT/ 5:30pm MT/4:30pm PT

Virtual Networking Event Sponsored by UBTECH